Island Airport Safety Commitee

In 2005 the government of the Netherlands organized a Safety Management System (SMS) for the airport authorities of Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, St. Eustatius, St. Maarten and Suriname.

The SMS was a new approach that International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) would like to focus on with the aim to improve safety at airports.
During this training, the first attempt was made to work together with the aim to implement the SMS in block.

In 2006 during the first Airside Safety Week at Aeropuerto Internacional Reina Beatrix (AIRB), four (4) of the seven (7) airports were present namely, Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao and St. Maarten.
During the week, the name was established as "Island Airport Safety Committee" (IASC) and we also made the first bylaws.

The second IASC meeting was held in St. Maarten in 2007 which the first two days are dedicated to exchange of information and to support each other in regard to any safety concern(s) of an airport. The third and fourth days the group will perform an audit on the airside area which includes runway, taxiway and apron. The Rescue Fire Fighting Services formed also part of the audit process.

IASC"™s viewpoint is that collaboration amongst the partners, and the sharing of knowledge on an airport operational level, can also be of support to strengthening the commitment and dedication of the Airport Operations professionals who are highly trained to uphold the required level of airport operations safety practices."
Momentary IASC consists of eight (8) partners, namely, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, St. Eustatius, St. Maarten and Suriname.

This year the IASC will celebrate his 10th anniversary which will be held in Curaçao in combination with a Summit starting from May 17 to 20, 2015.
We are promoting this event as "Embracing Opportunities in the Airport Busines".
Normally the IASC focused only on ICAO Annex 14and 19, Aerodrome and SMS. Due to celebrating the 10th meeting, we will expand our area to cover also the Security and Facilitation part ( Annex 17 and 9).During the summit we will have several aviation entities to present their latest update/training/environment which is important to share with the aviation industry.
Mrs. Leticia Monteagudo of IATA, Mr. Ricardo Delgado of ICAO, Mr. David Gamper of ACI and Mr. Jorge Ramirez of SITA will be amonst the facilitators. Besides the aforementioned persons and entities, we also have several airport executives such as Mr. Jurgen Benschop of Aruba Airport Authority N.V (AAA), Mr. Lionel Beckles of Curaçao Airport Partners (CAP), Mr. Michael Ch. Nicolaas a person with many experiences in the airport business and also Mr. Rod Smith, Fire Chief Officer at Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport.

We are hereby inviting you and/or your organization to participate in this fabulous summit will be held from May 17 "“ 20, 2015 in the Marriott Curacao Hotel.

The participation fee will be US$ 300.00 for the aforementioned days including material and lunch.
Do not miss this unique opportunity to enhance your knowledge by attending this summit at "home"!

For registration and hotel accommodation, please visit IASC or email

"Nos ta mira boso entre 17 y 20 mei na e IASC Summit pa" Embracing Opportunities in the Airport Business!

Compartir noticia:
Biblioteca Virtual